Gratitude Unlimited

I recently read a post by Brian Johnson   – “Become a grateful Poet”.  In this post he talks about Tim Sanders ‘POET’ Approach to gratitude.

POET stands for:

P for People

O for Opportunities

E for Experiences

T for Things

(Tim Sanders says – “I put Things last because they cause us to focus on material items that can either be in short supply or be taken away entirely”)

Here’s the approach

P: I am grateful for these amazing People: ________________________________________

O: I am grateful for these Opportunities: _______________________________________

E: I am grateful for these Experiences: ________________________________________

T: I am grateful for these Things: ____________________________________________

(Reference: http://www.entheos.com/ideas/brian-johnson/2013/become-a-grateful-poet)

EFT Protocol for POET

The best thing I like about EFT is that it is a very resourceful and flexible tool; there are different ways in which it can be used.

gratitudeHere’s my suggestion on how to use Tim’s gratitude exercise in the EFT format:

P (People)

KC – Even though I don’t appreciate many people in my life, today I am grateful for all these amazing people. (you can name the people)

EB- I haven’t appreciated the wonderful/kind/compassionate/loving/caring  people in my life lately

EC- I didn’t have time to appreciate these people

UE- Today I will take time to appreciate these amazing people

UN- I am grateful for X (You can describe the qualities of each person)

Ch- I am grateful for Y

CB- I am grateful for Z

O (Opportunities)

KC –Even though I haven’t appreciated the opportunities I have had lately, today I am grateful for these opportunities.

EB- I haven’t appreciated opportunities lately

EC- I didn’t have time to appreciate these opportunities in my life

UE- Today I will take time to appreciate these opportunities

UN- I am grateful for this opportunity (Describe it)

Ch- I am grateful for this opportunity (Describe it)

CB- I am grateful for this opportunity (Describe it)

E (Experiences)

KC –Even though I haven’t appreciated the experiences I have had lately, today I am grateful for these experiences.

EB- I haven’t appreciated experiences lately

EC- I didn’t have time to appreciate these experiences in my life

UE- Today I will take time to appreciate these experiences

UN- I am grateful for this experience (Describe it)

Ch- I am grateful for this experience (Describe it)

CB- I am grateful for this experience (Describe it)

T (things)

KC –Even though I haven’t appreciated the things in my life – that make my life comfortable, enjoyable (add your own adjectives), today I am grateful for these things.

EB- I haven’t appreciated things lately

EC- I didn’t have time to appreciate these things in my life

UE- Today I will take time to appreciate these things

UN- I am grateful for this thing (Name it)

Ch- I am grateful for this thing (Name it)

CB- I am grateful for this thing (Name it)

You can repeat all the above again.

Shortcut method

I had written a post on Gratitude tapping. You can check the presentation here. The same method is applied here by dividing the gratitude phrases into 4 parts.

Example

EB- I am grateful for this person (Name the person or people)

EC- I am grateful for this Opportunity (Describe it)

UE- I am grateful for this Experience (Describe it)

UN- I am grateful for this thing (Name it)

Ch, CB – repeat

Would love to hear your experience with gratitude tapping in the form of comments below. If you have any questions about this approach, send me an e-mail.

About Puja

I am a Counseling Psychologist, Certified EFT Practitioner & Accredited Trainer with AAMET. In my 12+ years of experience, I have effectively used EFT and Counseling to help clients heal their emotional and physical problems.
This entry was posted in EFT, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Unlimited

  1. Pingback: Using the POET approach for breakups | feelgoodwitheft

Leave a Reply

