Survivors of Abuse

Survivors of any kind of abuse (sexual, physical, emotional) suffer from tremendous guilt. They go through their entire life thinking that it was THEIR FAULT. They blame themselves for everything in the past. It is a very heavy burden to carry.

They feel
It was my fault that …
… my parents fought
… my parents didn’t get along with each other
… my _____ abused me
… my parents slapped me

… my parents didn’t love me… etc

When a child is growing up in an abusive environment, the child takes  everything to be his/her fault and feels responsible for everything. Even when they grown up,  despite logically knowing that was not their fault they are unable to shake off the belief emotionally. This is because they have internalized the guilt in their system.

EFT will help in shaking off the guilt and the ‘self-blame’ emotions.

Even though I was abused by__, I love and accept myself.

RP- this abuse

Even though I believe it was my fault that my parents _____, I love and forgive myself.

RP- my fault

Even though  my parents…relatives…____ abused me and I blamed myself for their behavior as if something was wrong with me, I love and forgive myself. I love and forgive myself for blaming myself for their behavior.

RP – I blame myself for their behavior.

Even though I feel guilty, I choose to release this guilt. I choose to accept that it was not my fault.

RP- I choose to release this guilt.

Even though I feel I don’t deserve good things in life because it was my fault, I choose to accept that I do deserve good things in life. I do deserve to live my life and not punish myself for my ___(parents/…) behavior.
EB – this undeserving feeling
UE, UN, CH – I choose to accept that I deserve good things in life
CB, UA – I do deserve to live my life joyously and not punish myself…

repeat on the rest of the points.

Even though I still blame myself, I love and forgive myself. (do at least 4 rounds of EFT daily)

RP- remaining guilt.

There may be many incidents which involve guilt and they have to be worked upon by using EFT.
Anger, hurt and many other emotions may come up after you tap on guilt. Continue to tap on each emotion as they surface.

** RP- Reminder phrase

About Puja

I am a Counseling Psychologist, Certified EFT Practitioner & Accredited Trainer with AAMET. In my 12+ years of experience, I have effectively used EFT and Counseling to help clients heal their emotional and physical problems.
This entry was posted in Trauma and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

